MAPS Distinguished Service Award

The MAPS highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award, is a special recognition for outstanding, long-term service and dedication to the planetarium field on a local, regional, or national basis. Nominees should exhibit qualities of leadership, inspiration, vision, commitment to excellence, and a passion for the planetarium community.

Select “Read More” to access the criteria & nomination form and to view past recipients.


MAPS Distinguished Service Award – Criteria & Nomination Form [pdf]

Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2015Patty Seaton
2010Sam Storch; Steven Mitch
2006Erik Zimmerman
2005Dick Peery
2001Lee Ann A. Hennig
1999Pete Connors; Tom Stec
1997Fred Stutz
1995Don Hall; George Lovi (posthumously)
1993George Reed
1992Gerald Mallon
1991George Hamilton
1987Everett Carr; Claire Carr
1986Ellie Milliken
1984Jack Spoehr
1981Alan Friedman
1980Jeanne Bishop
1979George Pitluga
1978Dr. Mark Littmann; Hansen Planetarium Staff