Members of the Middle Atlantic Planetarium Society have an opportunity to serve on committees that keep the membership informed on the latest developments happening within the organization. In addition to the Executive Board, these volunteer work groups are available for appointment.

See a member of the Executive Board or click on the committee link below to e-mail the appropriate committee chair for more information.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee is responsible for tabulating member votes and reporting results to the delegates of the annual MAPS meeting.

Chairperson: Paul Krupinski

Janet Stearns

Awards Committee

Chairperson: Kerri Kiker

A MAPS member can nominate another member or herself/himself for an award by completing the Award Nomination Form and submitting the form to the MAPS Awards Committee Chair. After review by the MAPS Board, those nominees completing the requirements will be given the award at the Middle Atlantic Planetarium Society Annual Conference.

Visit the Awards Category to access criteria & nomination forms and to view past award recipients.

Constitution Review Committee

The Constitution Review Committee advises the President as to the constitutionality of policies, procedures, motions, and proposed amendments, plus periodically update the MAPS Constitution and By-Laws.

Chairperson: Steven LJ Russo

Megan Norris

Education Committee

The Education Committee is the mainstay of our organization. Education is an overriding goal of all planetarium presentations.

Chairperson: Lee Ann Hennig

Megan Norris
Francine Jackson
Sue Button
Mark Percy
April Whitt
Patty Seaton

Elections Committee

Duties of the Elections Committee are outlined in the By-Laws of the Middle Atlantic Planetarium Society.

Chairperson: OPEN SEAT

Paul Krupinski

Steve Shipley


Historian Archivist

The Historian Archivist is responsible for:
a. Maintaining copies of all organization documents.
b. Developing a digital library/archive of paperwork/photos/etc.
c. Providing requested materials to the Web Site Committee for posting.
d. Providing occasional programs at annual conferences showcasing photos/materials from past conferences.
e. Working with membership to collect and retrieve materials for library/archive.

John T. Meader

Membership Committee

Chairperson: Talia Sepersky

Memorial Committee

The Memorial Committee is responsible for communicating with the membership regarding when our esteemed colleagues and friends pass away.

Chairperson: Paul Krupinski

Tim Collins

Program Committee

The Program Committee facilitates upcoming conference events with the next conference host.

Chairperson: April Whitt

Brian Koehler

Publications Committee

Publications Committee publishes and distributes the Constellation, the organization’s quarterly newsletter.

Chairperson: Kevin Conod

Click for information regarding advertising in our newsletter!